Blah, blah, blog.

On August 17th at the buttcrack of dawn, actually even earlier (don’t know what you would call that), I will be flying out of Southern Oregon’s greatest metropolitan area, Medford. Quick layover in my stompin’ ground, PDX and then on to our nation’s fine capital, Washington D.C. I will be there for a few days and then depart on a flight, I don’t even know how long, to Kigali, Rwanda. It is here that I will spend the majority of the next 4 months. I will also be spending about a month in Uganda. Going to Africa has been a dream of mine for a while, but I knew a short-term trip just wouldn’t do it justice. So why not live there for 4 months?

During this time I will be taking classes, going on lots of great adventures, rafting the Nile, seeing cool animals, teaching for a month in Ugandan primary schools, meeting new people, experiencing a different culture, trying interesting foods, soaking up the sun and getting a farmers tan, seeking God, and lots of other awesome stuff. Basically, livin’ the good life.

The decision making process to do this was actually not that easy. If you know me, you know that I can barely choose a laundry detergent at the store and don’t even get me started on the sunscreen aisle. So making such a huge decision was difficult. Thanks to the love and support of my fantastic family, friends and of course, the big G-O-D, I decided to go for it. It will be a life-changing experience and definitely something to tell the grandkiddos about.

I am very sad to leave everyone behind, that is by far the hardest part for me. Please stay in touch, It would mean the world to me :) Prayers would also be very much appreciated. Especially for health the entire time, my immune system has a funny way of trying to ruin my life, and I would really rather not have to deal with that when I am halfway across the world. Your support is appreciated, whether it is financial, emotional or through prayer!

Basically this blog is for those of you who care what is going on in my life for the next 4 months. It will let you know what I’m doing, how I’m doing, and, hopefully, the great things God is doing. I’ll try to put pictures on here, but I will, most likely, be putting many more up on fayboo (Facebook, mom).

I’m not really one for blogs and I’ll do my best to keep this from being lame. And I’ll try to refrain from rambling on about every detail in my life. Just because I’m in Africa doesn’t make it any more exciting that I am “taking a nap” or that I “bought a coke zero” (Easy A, anyone?). If I fail to do those things and end up with a boring and self-absorbed blog, well, then don’t read it.
Love you all and can’t wait to tell you about this amazing experience.
20 responses to “Blah, blah, blog.

  1. i cant wait to read your boring self absorbed blog :)
    love you Led, so juiced you get to go have such a great experience!!
    annnnd i expect a great authentic African gift upon your return.

    Sambo.

  2. Be careful crossing the ocean Kay! You’ll definitely be in my thoughts and prayers ! Love you and I’m so excited to read all about your trip!

  3. I will be praying for you and your health. I might also specifically pray that your cheek doesn’t randomly swell up.

    I’m so excited for you. In 10 years (or 2) when you look back, you are going to be so thankful you took this leap of faith and moved away for awhile. This trip is going to be so rewarding for you, and you will grow so much. AND, your going to be closer to me!

  4. Wow what can I say that won’t make me cry.I am soo excited for you!!! What a life changing experience you are going to embark on.We are so proud of you.
    Every morning I’m going to race to my email to see if you have posted anything new on your blog.(No pressure).
    I love you. “Keep In Mind”

  5. We are so excited for you as you go on this great adventure! We look forward to hearing about your experiences and will be covering you in prayer :) The Rose family

  6. Thank you Kaylee, for making me cry at work. I just had to lie to 2 people saying my allergies are acting up today. Bahaha. You just don’t even understand how proud of you I am seeing how you’ve grown in your faith & molding in to the young lady God wants you to be. You will be in my prayers EVERYDAY, you know that. Love you so much Kayyyyle.
    PS Im with your mom, I’ll be checkin up on you all the time! (But no preshh) ;)

  7. I’m so excited for you Kaylee! This will be such an amazing experience for you and I am so jealous of you. I will miss you so much but can’t wait to hear all about your trip on here. Get there safely please and you will be in my prayers twinsy:) Love you mucho!

  8. Really great idea about the blog Kaylee! I will keep track of your adventure while im on my own adventure. I wish you all the best in Africa! Im sure it will be an experience of a lifetime. Cant wait to see you again in person when we are both back so you can tell me about it in person. Have a great time!

  9. Good luck kaylee girl!! I’m so happy to hear you will be making your mark on this world ( not that you haven’t already) always trying to do something good for others. I love your independence. You remind me of you mom, just braver and I always thought she was brave. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. Stay safe, make a difference and keep the faith!
    Love you,
    Michelle

  10. Okay, Girlie Girl!
    Keep the Kals posted. You know what you mean to us! Our thoughts, WORRIES, and prayers are with you, child! I’ll try to keep your Mama from crying (and your dad too ;-) As Angel Grandma always said when we walked out the door, “Be Careful, Love.” Be safe and also, you know, have some fun!
    Love you from all of us!
    Nee-Nee and the rest of the Kalevicoglus!

Leave a Reply

